Tuesday, August 4, 2009

Cx2 on... Politeness

Politeness.

It seems to be very basic ideals of politeness have gone down the tubes lately.

I'm not talking about being overly polite, just very simple things like, "please" "thank you" "nice to meet you."

Things like acting professional during work, especially when you work with the public and at least in front of customers.

Or when you're out for work, but still on the clock, not throwing a literal temper-tantrum and dropping F-bombs left and right.

When invited into someone's home, accepting an offer when it is extended or if you change your mind after the fact, asking permission for items, or saying "no thank you" when you decline.

A simple, "Thanks for the hospitality," upon departure.

Being on time when you say you will be, or calling an apologizing when you get caught up with something.

If you're going to be more than a half hour late, just reschedule -- don't make people wait 2-3 hours.

It is incredibly rude to drop N-bombs, C-bombs in a public setting with mixed company. On that note, it is incredibly rude to scream into your cell phone to "never fucking call this number again" in a public setting.

Even going through drive-thrus I almost always say, "please" and "thank you". When one has to complain, rather, return something or have something adjusted, have an issue with a company.. try not to get angry with the person trying to help you.. [unless it's blatantly THEIR fault]
But it usually isn't. Anyone who's ever dealt with the public has had this issue at some point.

A good rule to follow is to put yourself in the other person's shoes. If you are polite to them, you'll most likely get better service, and maybe even any perks that being nice might get you.

I find being rude and unfriendly is way more work than being polite and personable. You should try it.

No comments:

Post a Comment